hillscene blog

Ruccis Circus comes to town

Zac-and-circusruccis

Amy Middleton from Burrinja talks to Darren Clarke about running away with the circus.

Upwey-based photographer Darren Clarke takes photographs because it enables him to stop and look at the beauty in the world. Darren recently spent an evening at Burrinja photographing some of the talented members of Ruccis Circus who took part in the Burrinja Circus Festival in September. In an interview with Darren, he offered the following insight into his practise.

How did you first get into photography?
I have always been creative and involved in some form of art.  I used to airbrush portraits, but when my son came along I found I didn’t have the time or space to do that anymore. It was during this  time that my father-in-law gave me a camera so I could start capturing those special family memories, that was about 6 years ago and I don’t think a day has passed without me taking a photo since then.

What do you look for in subject matter and Why?
I take photos of many different subjects, for various reasons but it depends on my mood at the time. I enjoy photographing Ruccis Circus and capturing a sense of fun. They are always having such a great time it’s not hard to find a smile; the only tricky bit is capturing some of the action shots.

How long have you been working with Ruccis Circus?
I first started taking photos for Ruccis about 4 months ago. After taking a lot of landscape shots I wanted to gain experience photographing people and Anna volunteered her students, they have quickly turned into one of my favourite subjects. Ruccis is such a fun place, the people, the atmosphere, the colour and movement. After all… who doesn’t love the Circus! As a kid I used to dream of running away and joining a circus, and now I get to get close to the action by taking photographs.

To see more of Darren’s’ photography go to…www.facebook.com/D.Clarke.Photography

Circus-1

Leave a Reply

